Denver Broncos announce their 2022 team captains

Russell Wilson, Cortland Sutton, Justin Simmons, Bradley Chap and Brandon McManus all have the approval of his teammates.

Englewood, Colorado. No more fiddling with whether or not you have team leaders.

Nathaniel Hackett wants them and after Tuesday’s player vote, the Broncos picked five: Russell Wilson and Courtland Sutton up front; Bradley Chubb and Justin Simmons in defense; and Brandon McManus for special teams.

“The best clue is the number of players who got the votes,” said Hackett, the Broncos’ first coach of the year. “It wasn’t just those five. It was many, many guys. Up front we had a bunch of guys. And I think it’s great to see so many people who They believe in their teammates. It wasn’t just a specific number of guys.”

In Vic Fangio’s first two seasons as head coach for the Broncos in 2019-20, he did not name the captains, deciding instead to rotate players to be captains on match day. He changed it in 2021 and named six captains with Sutton, Simmons and McManus receiving repeat honors in 2022.

“It’s an honor,” Sutton said. “For it to come from your teammates, your teammates, the guys you grind with every day, to see the things we’re doing on the field, off the field, try to carry a team in the right direction, it’s a huge honor.”

“It’s kind of a title,” said Chubb, who wasn’t a captain last season. “All the hard work, all the leadership I’ve been trying to instill, so it’s such a great achievement to look at it before so their peers had to wear it with pride.”

“It’s a huge honor every year,” McManus said. “It’s a new team here, a new group of players, a lot of new faces, a lot of new names. So it’s a humbling experience. I grew up as a kid at the top of Lincoln Financial Stadium watching the Eagles games and dreaming.” By becoming a football player in the NFL.

“Obviously I was able to achieve being that player but now being a captain for six years now, it’s been unbelievable. I still feel humbled every year.”

The most notable vice captain was safety veteran Karim Jackson. Last year’s captain Jackson is the standout member of the Broncos as he turns 34 as he enters his thirteenth season in the NFL.

Other worthy captains who failed: offensive linemen Garrett Pauls, Lloyd Cochinberry III, Dalton Reisner, Graham Glasgow and Billy Turner; Inside linebacker Jose Jewell; and defensive line Dre’Mont Jones and DJ Jones. It looks like Cornback Pat Sirten II will become captain next year.

Bronco podcast: Claes Mike Drop

Denver Broncos news headlines, game previews and interviews with Mike Cleese, 9NEWS expert.

Suggested videos: Sports

More ways to get 9NEWS

Subscribe to our site 9 daily bulletin

Download the 9NEWS app
Google apps:

How to add the 9NEWS app to your streaming device

ROKU: add channel from file ROKU . Store Or search for KUSA.

For both Apple TV and Fire TV, search for “9news” to find the free app to add to your account. Another option for Fire TV is to have the app Delivered directly to your Fire TV through amazon.